大西部绿道(最近被《纽约时报》评选为世界前三名自行车道)是爱尔兰增长最快,最繁华的旅游胜地,是爱尔兰最长的指定越野自行车道和步行道于1937年关闭的著名的西港至阿基尔铁路的其中一部分。在Co Mayo的Clew湾东部和北部段绕行42公里。它始于广受欢迎的海滨小镇韦斯特波特(Westport),并穿越纽波特(Newport)和穆拉尼(Mulranny)的古朴村庄,然后在阿基尔峡湾(Achill Sound)圆滑结束。最初以铁路线为起点,并提供壮丽的风景背景,例如Clew湾,Clare岛,神话般的圣山Croagh Patrick和Nephin Beg Mountains,可提供温和的坡度。您将穿越沼泽,林地和活跃的农田,在发现野生动植物的同时,Greenway为每个访客提供了独特的体验。

西港至纽波特-11公里路段

在韦斯特波特,一个官方的接入点位于N59的右侧,朝着韦斯特波特市中心约500m的纽波特方向行驶。沿着绿色路标上的指路指示标志行驶。在纽波特,一个官方的接入点位于N59左侧,沿西港方向行驶,距纽波特镇约2公里。

  • 预计骑车时间:1至1.5小时
  • 预计步行时间:3至3.5小时

纽波特到马兰尼-18公里路段

在纽波特,有一个官方的接入点位于N59的左侧,正好驶向Mallaranny。在Mallaranny,一个官方的访问点位于N59的右边,前往N-Bangor。

  • 预计骑车时间:2至2.5小时
  • 预计步行时间:5至5.5小时

穆兰尼至阿基尔-13公里段

在Mallaranny,一个官方的访问点位于N59的右边,前往N-Bangor。接入点也位于Mulranny Park Hotel的后方。在阿奇尔峡湾(Achill Sound)上,官方进出点位于阿奇尔岛(Achill Island)的门户ÓstánOileánAcla /阿奇尔岛酒店(Achill Island Hotel),沿指路标牌往格林威(Greenway)方向行驶

  • 预计骑车时间:1至1.5小时
  • 预计步行时间:2至2.5小时

有关Great Western Greenway的更多信息,请访问http://www.greenway.ie。

新推出!!西港旅游组织开发的18条自行车道

无论您是初学者还是寻求经验的自行车手,都有一条适合所有人的路线。有关更多信息,请访问http://www.westporttourism.com/cycling-routes

订阅我们的电子邮件时事通讯,了解Hotel Westport的特别优惠和最新消息

阅读更多

Great Western Greenway

The Great Western Greenway, (recently voted in the top 3 cycle trails in the world, by the New York Times) is Irelands fastest growing and most sough after tourism attraction – is Ireland’s longest designated off-road cycling and walking trail which follows the route of the renowned Westport to Achill railway which closed in 1937. Running 42km around the eastern and northern stretches of Clew Bay in Co Mayo. It begins in the popular seaside town of Westport and traverses through the quaint villages of Newport and Mulranny before coming to a gentle finish at Achill Sound. Offering mild gradients courtesy of its initial beginning as a railway line and with magnificent landscape backdrops such as Clew Bay, Clare Island, the mythical holy mountain Croagh Patrick and the Nephin Beg Mountains. You will travel through bogs, woodland, and active farm land, while spotting wildlife and flora, Greenway has something unique for each and every visitor.

Westport to Newport - 11km section

In Westport an official access point is located to the right just off the N59 travelling in the direction of Newport approximately 500m from Westport town centre. Follow the directional fingerpost signs on to the Greenway. In Newport an official access point is located to the left just off the N59 travelling in the direction of Westport located approximately 2km from Newport town.

  • Estimated Time Cycling: 1 to 1.5 Hours
  • Estimated Time Walking: 3 to 3.5 Hours

 

Newport  to Mulranny - 18km section

In Newport an official access point is located to the left just off the N59 travelling to Mallaranny. In Mallaranny an official access point is located to the right just off the N59 travelling to Bangor.

  • Estimated Time Cycling: 2 to 2.5 Hours
  • Estimated Time Walking: 5 to 5.5 Hours

 

Mulranny to Achill - 13km section

In Mallaranny an official access point is located to the right just off the N59 travelling to Bangor. An access point is also located to the rear of the Mulranny Park Hotel. On Achill Sound an official access point is located at Óstán Oileán Acla / Achill Island Hotel at the gateway to Achill Island, Follow finger post signage onto Greenway

  • Estimated Time Cycling: 1 to 1.5 Hours
  • Estimated Time Walking: 2 to 2.5 Hours

 

 

For further information on the Great Western Greenway visit http://www.greenway.ie

 

NEWLY LAUNCHED!! 18 Cycling Routes developed by Westport Tourism Organisation

 

There’s a route for everyone, whether you’re a beginner looking for a view, or an experienced cyclist looking for a challenge. For more information visit http://www.westporttourism.com/cycling-routes 

 

 

Subscribe to our email newsletter for special offers and latest news for Hotel Westport

Sign Up