梅奥,韦斯特波特

迷人的韦斯特波特小镇位于克里夫湾(Clew Bay)海岸,是该国为数不多的规划城镇之一。这是一个房地产小镇,按照格鲁吉亚时期的著名建筑师詹姆斯·怀亚特(James Wyatt)的计划建造。它的突出特点之一是优雅的绿树成荫的林荫大道,被称为购物中心。

夏季,每周两次进行这个历史名镇的导游散步。

从16世纪是O'Malley的据点到现在,Westport的发展历史都在位于Westport Quay的Heritage Centre中传承。

欲了解更多信息,请访问爱尔兰梅奥韦斯特波特奎伊的克利湾遗产中心

电话:+353(0)98 26852,电子邮件:westportheritage@eircom.net

 

线索湾考古步道

提示湾是爱尔兰最壮观的海上入口之一。 6000多年来,人们一直生活在这里,留下了自己的踪迹,提供了令人叹为观止的风景,其中蕴藏着丰富的遗产,考古和历史。小径拥有21个考古和遗产遗址,从西港(Westport)延伸,进入穆里斯克(Murrisk),路易斯堡(Louisburg),再到克利湾(Clew Bay)入口的克莱尔岛(Clare Island)。所有指定地点均靠近道路,且均标有两个圆形的独特徽标-灵感来自Boheh Stone的主要圆形图案。

有关更多信息,请访问http://www.clewbaytrail.com

 

线索湾遗产中心

线索湾遗产中心位于一栋19世纪的建筑中,追溯了计划的西港镇和线索湾从基督教前时代到现在的历史。与整个西港区相关的文物,文件和照片为介绍当地历史,习俗和传统提供了基础。提供带中心的导览游。

 

家谱服务

对于Westport和Clew湾地区(从Achill Island到Louisburgh)。族谱服务由庞大的计算机数据库支持,该数据库基于教堂记录,学校登记册,租金记录,墓地记录,普查返回,当地报纸和街道目录。

有关更多信息,请登录-westport.mayo-ireland.ie

 

韦斯特波特的故事

60分钟的动画西港之旅。在城镇的街道和小巷中漫步时,聆听历史,八卦,故事和故事。游览在周四,周五和周六上午11点30分从八边形出发。

  • 成人€7
  • 年长者,学生及未付薪水€5
  • 团体价格(20+)每人€5
  • 尽管不是必需的,还是建议提前预订。

通过Westport活动大使预订,联系Lorella,电话087 9768096

电子邮件– westportactivityambassadors@gmail.com

 

爱尔兰国家博物馆–乡村生活

自1850年以来代表爱尔兰传统生活方式的国家藏品的收藏之地。屡获殊荣的乡村生活博物馆是国家民俗收藏的故乡。博物馆的展览分布在四个楼层,为参观者提供了一次难得的机会,以了解爱尔兰人民在大饥荒到1950年代末之间的百年生活。

互动的显示屏和屏幕,我们正在迅速丧失的传统的实际视频画面,手工制作的收割结,柳条制品,纺车和小船,海岛上的衣服和手工艺品以及祖父母使用的手动机械都在这里展出。

有关更多信息,请登录-http: //www.museum.ie/zh/intro/country-life.aspx

 

塞德菲尔德游客中心

北梅奥的Céide球场一定会给您带来独特的体验。因为这不仅仅是另一个考古纪念碑或游客中心。在这里,您可以沉迷于广阔的史前景观,毯子沼泽的自然野生生态,陡峭的悬崖和海岸线以及广受赞誉的建筑,该建筑已获得爱尔兰最负盛名的建筑奖。

Céide油田是世界上最古老的油田系统,已有超过五千年的历史。这是具有世界重要性的独特的新石器时代景观,它改变了我们对石器时代祖先的看法。石场墙,房屋和巨石墓的残骸保存在几平方英里的泥炭覆盖下。他们讲述了一个农民的日常生活,他们的有组织的社会,高度发展的精神信仰以及他们与无法控制的变化环境的斗争的故事。

有关更多信息,请登录-http: //www.heritageireland.ie/en/west/ceidefields/

 

Croagh Patrick信息中心

Croagh Patrick信息中心位于Croagh Patrick基地朝圣者之路的默里斯克(Morrisk),与国家饥荒纪念碑对面。

Croagh Patrick酒店距离风景如画的西港镇Westport 5英里,其圆锥形雄伟地耸立在周围的乡村之上。从山上的各个阶段,壮丽的悬崖湾(Clew Bay)和周围的南梅奥(South Mayo)乡村壮丽景色。

 

TócharPhádraig

从Ballintubber修道院一直延伸到Croagh Patrick,是古老的朝圣之路TócharPhádraig。

最初,这是战车之路,从康纳特国王和皇后所在地拉特克鲁瓦(Rathcruachan)到奥格哈戈(Aughagower)和克鲁阿昂(Crachan)Aille,在基督教前时代就被克鲁阿特·帕特里克(Croghgh Patrick)称为。

圣帕特里克节之后,朝圣者开始穿越那条通往圣山的路,随着时间的流逝,它被称为TócharPhádraig或圣帕特里克堤道。

 

迈克尔·戴维特博物馆

迈克尔·戴维特博物馆现在坐落在梅奥郡斯特拉德村经过修复的宏伟的前教堂中。迈克尔·戴维特(Michael Davitt)于1846年在该教堂被洗礼,并被埋葬在13世纪博物馆旁的Straide修道院内。

迈克尔·戴维特博物馆(Michael Davitt Museum)包含大量文献,照片,土地法,信件,明信片,海报和其他与戴维特生活相关的物品。此外,还有出色的视听效果,可增强展览效果,知识渊博的友好工作人员可为您提供带导游的游览,包括达维特的坟墓和斯特雷德修道院(如果需要)。

 

巴利克鲁伊国家公园

Ballycroy国家公园成立于1998年11月,它是爱尔兰的第六个国家公园,位于Mayo西北海岸。它包括11,000公顷的大西洋毛毯沼泽和多山的地形,覆盖了由奈芬·贝格(Nephin Beg)山脉主导的广阔的无人居住和未受破坏的荒野。斯达芬湖(Scardaun Loughs)位于内芬(Nephin)乞and与斯利夫卡尔(Slieve Carr)之间,海拔721米,是该山脉中最高的山脉。

在山脉西侧是欧文达夫沼泽。这是爱尔兰和西欧最后的完整的活动毯沼泽系统之一,并且是国家公园的重要科学和风景区。该公园还保护其他各种重要的栖息地和物种。其中包括高山荒地,高地草原,荒地,湖泊和河流集水区。格陵兰白雁,金Golden,红松鸡和水獭只是公园内重要的动物之一。国家公园本身就是Owenduff / Nephin综合保护区(SAC)和特别保护区(SPA)的一部分。这些欧洲名称是Natura 2000网络的一部分,该网络根据欧盟人居和鸟类指令保护稀有和重要的栖息地和物种。

有关更多信息,请登录-http: //www.ballycroynationalpark.ie

 

巴利克鲁伊国家公园游客中心

Ballycroy国家公园游客中心是现代化的公共设施,设有免费入口,免费无线网络,咖啡厅,洗手间和友善的乐于助人的员工。这是从斯莱戈(Sligo)到巴利纳(Balina),贝尔穆列特(Belmullet),阿基尔(Achill),韦斯特波特(Westport)和康尼马拉(Connemara)途中的N59站点的完美停留。这款隐藏的宝石是梅奥(Co. Mayo)公司的“狂野大西洋之路”上的六个教练站之一。

展览:精心设计的互动展览吸引了各个年龄段的游客。它全面介绍了这种独特的大西洋毯沼泽系统,包括河流,海滨和海洋生物,以及有关当地历史和文化的有趣轶事。

TócharDaithíBán自然教育径:这条自然教育径很短,位于人性化的道路上,地面平坦。这条迷人的小径有无数摄影机会,包括:可以欣赏到Achill岛,Nephin Beg山脉,Owenduff沼泽和大西洋的360度壮丽全景。个人和团体可以轻松完成20分钟的循环步行。可应要求安排更深入的引导式步行,游客中心的工作人员将很乐意识别植物,动植物和地质特征。

每天开放,4月至9月,上午10点至下午5.30,免费入场。

网站: www.ballycroynationalpark.ie

 

贝尔卡拉驱逐小屋

Belcarra Community Co-Op将Elmhall的一栋19世纪驱逐小屋改建为传统建筑,该建筑曾经是Walshe家族的住所,被房东的经纪人驱逐。

小屋是贝尔卡拉最后一次驱逐的地点,1886年,一家九口之家被房东的经纪人,臭名昭著的Gardiner,Pringle和Cuffe驱逐。

 

拉哈丹-爱尔兰的“泰坦尼克村”

从历史上看,拉哈达内声称自己是“爱尔兰的泰坦尼克号村庄”,因为在命运多RMS的泰坦尼克号灾难性的处女航程中,爱尔兰任何教区的人员伤亡惨重。在1912年4月11日(星期四)在科克郡皇后镇(科比)登上泰坦尼克号的几天内,来自Addergoole教区的十四个人中有十一个人在纽芬兰东部的冰冷水域中丧生。悲剧中只有三个Addergoole教区居民幸免于难。

为了纪念“ Addergoole十四岁”的故事,Addergoole泰坦尼克号学会于2001年11月成立

有关更多信息,请登录http://www.addergoole-titanic.com

 

梅奥北部家庭研究中心追踪祖先

梅奥郡Enniscoe的梅奥北部家庭研究中心提供了覆盖梅奥郡北部的家谱研究服务。

地点:Mayo公司Crossmolina

电话:+353(0)96 31809

 

安静的人小屋博物馆

1951年,约翰·福特(John Ford)执导了约翰·韦恩(John Wayne),莫琳·奥哈拉(Maureen O'Hara)和巴里·菲茨杰拉德(Barry Fitzgerald)出演的最伟大的电影《安静的人》。它以美丽的爱尔兰西部为背景,拍摄的重点是在梅奥-高威边境的康村。

安静的人平房博物馆是一个新颖的概念,它将为游客提供完全安静的体验,就好像他们实际上是在“现场”一样。该小屋位于Cong环形路的河边,在拍摄的实际位置之间,被设计为“ White-o-Mornin”小屋的精确复制品。

 

南梅奥家庭研究中心追踪祖先

南梅奥家庭研究中心位于梅奥郡的巴林罗布。它为那些询问其家族史的人提供了全面的服务。

地点:Mayo公司Ballinrobe

电话:+353(0)94 9541214

 

巴德暑期学校

巴德暑期学校探索爱尔兰神话,并因其当代意义而进行了独特的发现之旅。所有这些神话已经持续了数千年,并通过爱尔兰的口述传统流传下来。学校为每个人提供了一个地方,十五年来,巴德欢迎来自世界各地的参与者。

克莱尔岛(Clare Island)是传说中的海盗女王格蕾丝·奥马利(Granuaile)的祖籍。它提供了巨石墓,圣井和12世纪的西多会修道院的背景。音乐节包括音乐,诗歌,歌曲和舞蹈的夜间娱乐活动。儿童节也将在节日期间举行。音乐节举办岛屿游览和一年一度的岛民之夜,在这里我们体验克莱尔岛人民保持的当地传统。节日以诗歌朗诵和凯尔特人的盛宴结束。

电话+353 1 4904879

电子邮件bardsummerschool@iol.ie

http://www.bard.ie

 

基尔蒂马博物馆

基尔蒂马博物馆的历史与该镇命运的变化密不可分。几代人以来,基尔蒂马与贫穷和沮丧有关。由于没有工作,当地的家庭关系破裂,因为我们的年轻人被迫离开该地区寻找工作。 。该社区跌至1980年代以来的最低点:房屋空荡荡,登上木板,并带有“待售”标志。曾经是活动中心的火车站已被废弃,其沮丧和废弃的状态呼应了社区。

博物馆曾经是商品站,过去与现在融为一体。曾经一度被遗弃的车站主人之家现在变成了艺术中心,该地区得到了当地艺术家以及该国一些最重要艺术家的雕塑的进一步完善。

 

韦斯特波特之家和花园

Westport House&Grounds于1960年首次向公众开放,是爱尔兰最受欢迎的遗产之一。作为Browne家族的家庭住所已有300多年的历史了,其起源可以追溯到Connaught海盗女王Grace O'Malley。您可以想象-这所房子有故事要讲。由18世纪著名建筑师Richard Cassels James Wyatt和Thomas Ivory设计,

它位于香农(Shannon)的西部,是爱尔兰向公众开放的最美丽的历史建筑之一。它拥有一个绝佳的公园环境,其中有湖泊,露台,美丽的花园,并可以俯瞰Clew湾,大西洋,Clare岛和爱尔兰的圣山Croagh Patrick的壮丽景色。它由布朗家族(Browne family)建造,至今仍是私人所有,布朗家族是16世纪海盗女王格蕾丝·奥玛利(Grace O'Malley)的直接后裔。

有关更多信息,请登录http://www.westporthouse.ie/westport-house-and-gardens/

 

福克斯福德毛纺厂

Foxford Woollen Mills是爱尔兰历史悠久的编织传统工厂之一,是爱尔兰最后的工作工厂。福克斯福德的产品代表着数百年的技术,奉献精神和奉献精神,以及对工艺的热情,永不褪色。在屡获殊荣的爱尔兰设计师的帮助下,福克斯福德(Foxford)以其干净,现代的设计,鲜艳的色彩和更柔和的底漆恢复了古老的工艺,同时致力于保持更高的手工品质。最重要的是,福克斯福德仍然是典型的爱尔兰品牌。

 

凯尔莫尔修道院和维多利亚时代的围墙花园

参观经过修复的修道院房间,了解其历史以及贸易和浪漫史。探索6英亩的维多利亚式围墙花园,其中有宏伟的修复建筑。探索穿越地面的绝妙步道。

 

历史与宗教漫步

每个7月和8月的每个星期六和晚上2:30,与当地历史学家和FáilteIreland认可的游客指南BríanHoban一起导游Murrisk Heritage Loop Walk。

会议地点:梅奥郡,韦斯特波特,默里斯克,坎贝尔酒吧。

•贵族朝圣的详细信息。

•参观国家饥荒纪念馆

•参观穆里斯克修道院

•来自苏格兰的定居者和相关历史发展的渔业。

还包括朝圣地,铁器时代的环堡,新石器时代的考古遗址,参观Penal Mass Rock的基督教前起源

7月和8月的每个周五,周六和周日,将在旅游局的上午10:30开始进行古城Castlebar的历史指导。

 

梅奥历史之旅

7月和8月,BríanHoban,当地历史学家和FáilteIreland认可的旅游指南将提供一系列的历史导游。

7月和8月的每个周五,周六和周日,将在旅游局的上午10:30开始进行古城Castlebar的历史指导。

在这个有趣的旅程中涉及的主题包括:

●1235年,乔治·德·巴里(George De Barrie)建造了一座城堡

●1613年詹姆士一世授予《公司宪章》

●1798年8月27日,在“卡斯尔巴的比赛”中击败红军

●1879年迈克尔·戴维特(Michael Davitt)建立土地联盟。

此外,每个星期六从默里斯克(Murrisk)坎贝尔酒吧(Campbell's Pub)开始,带领游客游览默里斯克(Murrisk)Heritage Loop Walk下午2:30

有关详细信息,请致电087 9234504与Brían联系。

订阅我们的电子邮件时事通讯,了解有关西港酒店的特别优惠和最新新闻

注册

History & Heritage

Westport, Co Mayo 

The Charming town of Westport, situated on the shores of Clew Bay, is one of the few planned towns in the country. It is an estate town, built to the plan of James Wyatt, the well known architect of the Georgian period. One of its outstanding features is the elegant tree-lined boulevard, known as The Mall.

Guided walks of this historic town are conducted twice weekly during the summer months.

The history of the development of Westport, from the time it was an O'Malley stronghold in the 16th century, to the present day, is brought alive in the Heritage Centre, located at Westport Quay.

 

More Information:

Clew Bay Heritage Centre

The Quay,

Westport,

Co. Mayo,

Ireland.

 

Tel: +353 (0)98 26852

Email: westportheritage@eircom.net

Website: westport.mayo-ireland.ie

 

Clew Bay Heritage Centre

Situated in a 19th century building, the Clew Bay Heritage Centre, traces the history of the planned town of Westport and the Clew Bay area from pre-Christian times to the present. Artefacts, documents and photographs connected with the general Westport area provide a basis for the presentation of local history, customs and traditions. Guided tours of the centre are available.

Genealogical Service

For the Westport and Clew Bay area (Achill Island to Louisburgh). The genealogical service is backed up by an extensive computer database, based on church records, schools registers, rent rolls, cemetery records, census returns, local newspapers and street directories.

For more information log on to  - westport.mayo-ireland.ie

Westport Story
 
A 60-minute animated Tour of Westport. Hear the history, gossip, stories and yarns as you wander through the streets and laneways of the town.
The tour departs from the octagon on Thursday, Friday and Saturday mornings at 11.30am.
 
Adults €7
Seniors, Students & Unwaged €5
Group Rate (20+) €5 per person
Advance Booking, though not essential, is advisable. 
Book at Activity ambassadors desk at Westport Leisure Park, James Street Westport. 098 29160
Email – westportactivityambassadors@gmail.com 

 

National Museum of Ireland – Country Life

Home to the national collection of objects representing the traditional way of life in Ireland since 1850. The award-winning* Museum of Country Life is home to the National Folklife Collection. With exhibitions spread over four floors, the Museum gives its visitors a unique opportunity to see how the people of Ireland lived in the hundred years between the Great Famine and the end of the 1950s.

 

Interactive displays and screens, actual video footage of traditions we are fast losing are featured alongside handcrafted harvest knots, wickerwork, spinning wheels and boats, clothing and artefacts from the islands and hand operated machinery our grandparents used.

 

For more information log on to  - http://www.museum.ie/en/intro/country-life.aspx

 

Céide Fields Visitor Centre

The Céide Fields in North Mayo will certainly give you a unique experience. For this is not just another archaeological monument or visitor centre. Here you can indulge yourself in a vast prehistoric landscape, a natural wild ecology of blanket bog, dramatic cliffs and coastline, and a much acclaimed building, which has received Ireland's most prestigious architectural award.

 

The Céide Fields are the oldest known field systems in the world, over five and a half millennia old. It is a unique Neolithic landscape of world importance, which has changed our perception of our Stone Age ancestors. The remains of stone field walls, houses and megalithic tombs are preserved beneath a blanket of peat over several square miles. They tell a story of the everyday lives of a farming people, their organized society, their highly developed spiritual beliefs, and their struggle against a changing environment beyond their control.

For more information log on to - http://www.heritageireland.ie/en/west/ceidefields/

 

Croagh Patrick Information Centre

 

The Croagh Patrick Information Centre is situated in Murrisk on the Pilgrim's Path at the base of Croagh Patrick and opposite the National Famine Monument.

 

Croagh Patrick is 5 miles from the picturesque town of Westport and its conical shape soars majestically above the surrounding countryside. Magnificent views of Clew Bay and the surrounding south Mayo countryside are spectacular from all stages of the ascent of the mountain.

 

Tóchar Phádraig

From Ballintubber Abbey stretching out to Croagh Patrick is Tóchar Phádraig, the ancient pilgrim path.

 

Originally it was the chariot road that went from Rathcruachan, the seat of the Kings and Queens of Connacth, to Aughagower and Cruachan Aille, as Croagh Patrick was called in Pre-Christian times.

 

After St Patrick's time pilgrims began to traverse that same road to the holy mountain and over time it became known as Tóchar Phádraig or St Patrick's Causeway.

 

Michael Davitt Museum

The Michael Davitt Museum is now housed in the magnificently restored pre-penal church in the village of Straide, County Mayo. Michael Davitt was christened in this church in 1846 and is buried in the grounds of the 13th Century Straide Abbey, beside the Museum.

 

The Michael Davitt Museum contains an extensive collection of documents, photos, Land Acts, letters, postcards, posters and other items connected with Davitt's life. There is also the excellent audio-visual which enhances the exhibition and knowledgable and friendly staff are on hand to give you a guided tour which encompasses Davitt's grave and also Straide Abbey, if desired.

 

Ballycroy National Park

Ballycroy National Park was established in November 1998, it is Ireland’s sixth National Park and is located on the Western seaboard in northwest Mayo. It comprises of 11,000 hectares of Atlantic blanket bog and mountainous terrain, covering a vast uninhabited and unspoilt wilderness dominated by the Nephin Beg mountain range. Between Nephin beg and Slieve Carr, at 721metres above sea level, the highest mountain in the range, lie the Scardaun Loughs.

 

To the west of the mountains is the Owenduff bog. This is one of the last intact active blanket bog systems in Ireland and Western Europe and is an important scientific and scenic feature of the National Park. The Park also protects a variety of other important habitats and species. These include alpine heath, upland grassland, heath and lakes and river catchments. Greenland White-fronted geese, Golden plover, Red Grouse and Otters are just some of the important fauna found within the Park. The National Park is itself part of the Owenduff/Nephin Complex Special Area of Conservation (SAC) and Special Protection Area (SPA). These European designations are part of the Natura 2000 Network, which protect rare and important habitats and species under the EU Habitats and Birds Directive.

 

For more information log on to - http://www.ballycroynationalpark.ie/

 

Ballycroy National Park Visitor Centre
 
Ballycroy National Park Visitor Centre is modern public facility with free entrance, free wifi, café, restrooms and friendly helpful staff. This is a perfect stop on the N59, en-route from Sligo to Ballina, Belmullet, Achill, Westport and Connemara. This hidden gem is one of the six COACH STOPS on Co. Mayo's Wild Atlantic Way.
 
The Exhibition: Their well designed interactive exhibition captivates visitors of all ages. It offers a comprehensive overview of this unique Atlantic blanket bog system, including rivers, seashore and marine life along with interesting anecdotes on local history and culture.
 
Tóchar Daithí Bán Nature Trail: This nature trail is short and it's on a user-friendly pathway with even ground underfoot. There are countless photographic opportunities here from this charming trail including; a magnificent 360 degree panoramic view to Achill Island, the Nephin Beg Mountain Range, the Owenduff Bog and the Atlantic Ocean. This 20 minute loop walk can easily be done by individuals and groups. A more in-depth guided walk can be arranged by request, where visitor centre staff will be happy to identify flora, fauna and geological features.
 
Open daily, April to September, 10am to 5.30pm,  Free admission.
 
Ballycroy National Park Visitor Centre
Ballycroy Village
Co. Mayo
 

Belcarra Eviction Cottage

A 19th century eviction cottage at Elmhall, once the home of the Walshe family, who were evicted by the landlord's agents, has been restored and refurnished as a Heritage Centre, by Belcarra Community Co-Op.

The cottage was the scene of the last eviction in Belcarra, where a family of nine were evicted by the Landlord's agents, the infamous Gardiner, Pringle and Cuffe on Saturday October 2nd 1886.

 

Lahardane - Ireland's 'Titanic Village' 

Historically, Lahardane lays claim to being 'Ireland’s Titanic Village' because of the enormous loss of lives, of any parish in Ireland, on the ill-fated RMS Titanic's catastrophic maiden voyage. Within days of boarding the Titanic on Thursday 11th April 1912, at Queenstown (Cobh) in County Cork, eleven of the fourteen people from Addergoole parish had perished in the icy waters east of Newfoundland. Only three Addergoole parishioners survived the tragedy.

 

The Addergoole Titanic Society was established in November 2001 to commemorate the story of the 'Addergoole Fourteen',

For more information log on to http://www.addergoole-titanic.com/ 


Mayo North Family Research CentreTracing Your Ancestors 

The Mayo North Family Research Centre in Enniscoe, County Mayo offers a genealogical research service covering the northern part of County Mayo.

 

Location: Crossmolina, Co. Mayo

Telephone: +353(0)9631809

 

Quiet Man Cottage Museum 

In 1951 John Ford's greatest movie "The Quiet Man" starring John Wayne, Maureen O'Hara and Barry Fitzgerald was made. It was set in the beautiful west of Ireland with filming being centred in the village of Cong on the Mayo-Galway border.

Quiet Man Cottage Museum

 

Quiet Man Cottage Museum is a novel concept which will give the visitor a total Quiet Man experience as if they were actually 'on-set'. Located by the river at Circular Road, Cong, between actual locations used for the filming, the ground floor of the cottage has been designed as an exact replica of 'White-o-Mornin' Cottage.

 

South Mayo Family Research CentreTracing Your Ancestors 

South Mayo Family Research Centre is located in Ballinrobe, County Mayo. It offers a full service to those inquiring about their family history.

 

Location: Ballinrobe, Co. Mayo

Telephone: +353(0)949541214

 

The Bard Summer School 

The Bard Summer School explores the Irish myths and goes on a unique journey of discovery for their contemporary relevance. All of these myths have lasted thousands of years and have been handed down through Ireland's oral tradition. There is a place for everyone on the school and for fifteen years Bard has welcomed participants from all over the world.

 

Clare Island is the ancestral home of the legendary Pirate Queen Grace O'Malley (Granuaile). It provides a backdrop of megalithic tombs, holy wells and a 12th century Cistercian Abbey. The Festival includes nightly entertainment of music, poetry, song and dance. The Children's Bard also takes place during the festival. The festival hosts island tours and the annual Islander's Night, where we experience local traditions kept alive by the people of Clare Island. The festival finishes with a poetry reading and a Celtic feast.

Phone +353 1 4904879

Email bardsummerschool@iol.ie

http://www.bard.ie

 

Kiltimagh Museum 

The history of the Museum in Kiltimagh is inextricably bound up with the change in the town's fortunes. For generations Kiltimagh was associated with poverty and depression. With no employment locally family ties were ruptured as our young people were forced to leave the area in search of work. . The community hit its lowest ebb in the 1980s: houses were empty and boarded up and sporting 'For Sale' signs. The Railway Station, once hub of activity, was derelict, its depressed and abandoned state echoing that of the community.

The Museum, once the Goods Station, unites past and present. The once derelict Station Master's House is now an Art Centre and the area is further enhanced by sculptures by local artists and also some of the foremost artists in the country.

 

Westport House & Gardens 

Westport House & Grounds, first opened to the public is 1960, is one of Ireland’s best loved heritage attractions.  Having been family home to the Browne family for over 300 years, its roots trace back to Grace O’Malley, the Pirate Queen of Connaught.  As you can imagine - this house has some story to tell.  Designed by the famous architects Richard Cassels James Wyatt and Thomas Ivory in the 18th Century,

It is located west of the Shannon and is one of Irelands’ most beautiful historic homes open to the public.  It enjoys a superb parkland setting with lake, terraces, wonderful gardens and magnificent views overlooking Clew Bay, the Atlantic Ocean, Clare Island and Ireland’s holy mountain Croagh Patrick. It was built and is still privately owned by the Browne family who are direct descendants of the 16th century Pirate Queen, Grace O’Malley.

 

For more information log on to http://www.westporthouse.ie/westport-house-and-gardens/

 

Foxford Woollen Mills

Foxford Woollen Mills is one of the last working mills in Ireland, a country with a strong historic tradition of weaving. Foxford products represent hundreds of years of skill, dedication and commitment and a passion for craftsmanship that will never fade. With the help of award winning Irish designers, Foxford has revived an age old craft with clean, contemporary designs, vibrant colours and softer finishes while remaining dedicated to a superior level of hand finished quality. Above all, Foxford remains a brand that is quintessentially Irish.

 

Kylemore Abbey & Victorian walled gardens 

Visit the restored rooms of the Abbey and learn about it’s history and tales of tradegy and romance. Explore the 6 acre Victorian Walled Garden with it’s magnificent restored buildings. Discover great walks through the grounds.

 

Historical & Religious Walks

Guided tour of Murrisk Heritage Loop Walk each Saturday July & August at 2.30 p.m. with Brían Hoban, Local Historian & Fáilte Ireland Approved Tourist Guide.
 
Meeting Place: Campbell’s Pub, Murrisk, Westport, County Mayo.
 
• Details of Patrician Pilgrimage.
• Visit to National Famine Memorial
• Visit to Murrisk Abbey
• Developement of fishing industry by settlers from Scotland and associated history.
 
Also includes Pre Christian origins of this place of pilgrimage, Iron Age Ring Fort, Neolithic Archaelogical sites, visit to Penal Mass Rock, etc
 
A Guided History of Old Town Castlebar will take place each Friday, Saturday & Sunday during July and August starting at Tourist Office at 10.30 a.m.
 
MAYO HISTORY TOURS 
A series of guided history tours will be provided by Brían Hoban, Local Historian and Fáilte Ireland Approved Tour Guide during the months of July and August.
 
A Guided History of Old Town Castlebar will take place each Friday, Saturday & Sunday during July and August starting at Tourist Office at 10.30 a.m.
 
Among the topics covered in this fascinating tour are:
 
● The establishment of a castle by George De Barrie in 1235
 
● The granting of a Charter of Incorporation by King James 1st in 1613
 
● The defeat of the Redcoats in "the Races of Castlebar" on 27th August 1798
 
● The foundation of the Land League by Michael Davitt in 1879.
 
In addition a guided tour of Murrisk Heritage Loop Walk will take place each Saturday commencing at Campbell’s Pub, Murrisk at 2.30p.m.
 
For full details contact Brían at 087 9234504.
  • Book Now
    Arrive:
    Nights:
    No Booking Fee Free Cancellation
  • Download Brochure
  • Email Us